
 

 

 

 

 

 

                
 
ALBIT Board Meeting Minutes 

May 29, 2015 
 

The Alabama Licensure Board for Interpreters and Transliterators Regular Board 
meeting was held at the Board office in Montgomery and called to order at 10:00 a.m. 
with a quorum present.  Present were as follows: Belinda Montgomery, Chair; Ben 
Hollingsworth, Vice Chair; Tammy Adams, Secretary; Melvin Walker, Member; Patricia 
Smartt, Member; and Sharon Canada, Member. Not present were Nancy Brown, 
Member; and Lori Pituk, Member.  Also present were Paula McCaleb, Executive 
Director; Michael Maynard Licensing Agent (and serving as Recording Secretary); Todd 
Hughes, Board Counsel; and Karen Gunter serving as Interpreter & Transliterator.  
 
The meeting was advertised in advance on the Secretary of State’s web site located at 
www.sos.alabama.gov in accordance with the Alabama Open Meetings Act.  It was also 
advertised on the Board web site located at www.albit.alabama.gov. 

 
I. The Chair presented the November 7, 2014, Minutes for review from the Board.  

There being no objections, the Minutes were adopted.   
II. Motion 2015-01 – A motion was made by Tammy Adams to extend Dana Skinners 

Provisional Permit upon request of an exception.  Patricia Smartt seconded the 
motion.  Voting “aye” were Ben Hollingsworth, Tammy Adams, Melvin Walker, Patricia 
Smartt, and Sharon Canada.  Voting “nay” were none.  The motion passed.  

III. Motion 2015-02 – A motion was made by Ben Hollingsworth to accept the amended 
Rules and Regulations as follows: 
 

488-X-1-.02 Fees. 

(1) Nonrefundable fees are as follows: 

 

(a) Application fee:      $50.00 

 

(b) Initial and Renewal fee for Licenses:              $175.00 

http://www.sos.alabama.gov/
http://www.albit.alabama.gov/


 

(c) Initial and Renewal fee for Permits:              $125.00 

 

(d) Returned check fee:  

      (Maximum amount as set forth in the Code of Alabama) $35.00 

 

(e) Late fee        $100.00 

 

(f) Replacement of License or Permit:              $25.00 

 

 (g) 90 Day Exemption Permit     $50.00 

 

 (h) Reinstatement Fee     $25.00 

488-X-1-.04 Initial License. 

(1) This license limits the license holder to providing services in the specific area for which the 

License has been issued.  

(2) Prior to and not later than March 15th, applicants for initial license shall submit all of the 

following: 

(a) A notarized a Application for licensure, 

 

(b) The payment of a nonrefundable fee, 

 

(c) Documentation of GED, high school diploma, college diploma or certified college 

transcripts. 

 

(d) A current RID certified membership card, 

 

(e) Proof of citizenship and 



 

(f) Proof of citizenship form 

 

(g) Notarized copy of documentation of applicant’s passing a board approved code of 

ethics exam if applicant was certified after 1-1-95. 

488-X-1-.05 Renewal of License.  

(1) All licenses granted by the Alabama Licensure Board of Interpreters and Transliterators shall 

expire after March 15th. Prior to and not later than annual expiration date of March 15th, an 

application for renewal shall include all of the following: 

(a) A notarized a Application for license, 

 

(b) The payment of a nonrefundable fee, 

 

(c) A current RID certified membership card and 

 

(d) Documentation of applicant earning 2.0 CEUs within the last 12 month cycle or 

documentation of applicant adhering to the RID Certificate Maintenance Program by 

including a copy of applicant’s most recent CMP/ACET record. 

488-X-1-.06  Permit.  

(1) A permit limits the holder to provide services in specific areas for which the permit has been 

issued.  Applicants who do not meet the requirements for licensure shall apply for a permit.  A 

permit may be obtained by submitting all of the following: 

(a) A notarized a Application for a permit, 

 

(b) One of the following: 

 

 (i) GED, High school Diploma or Certified transcripts 

 

 (ii) College diploma or college certified transcripts   



  

(c) The payment of the nonrefundable fee, 

 

(d) Documentation the applicant has passed either a RID approved ethics or written 

knowledge exam, or the Jacksonville State University Interpreter Knowledge Skills 

Assessment, 

 

(e) Documentation the applicant has passed one of the following performance 

assessment tests: 

 

(i) Georgia Quality Assessment (GAQA) levels 3,4,5 

 

(ii) Florida Quality Assessment (FLQA) level 3 

 

(iii) Educational Interpreter Evaluation (EIE) level 3 

 

(iv) Mississippi Quality Assessment (MSQA) level 3 

 

(v) Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA) levels 3.0 to 3.9 

 

(vi) Kansas Quality Assessment  (KSQA) level 4 or higher  

 

(vii) Any other performance assessment test approved by the Board 

 

      (f) Proof of citizenship and 

 

     (g) Proof of citizenship form 

 



488-X-1-.07 Permit Renewal.  

(1) Prior to and not later than March 15th, renewal of any initial permits must be done, the year 

following initial application, by submitting the following: 

(a)  A notarized a Application for a renewable permit 

 

(b) The payment of the nonrefundable fee 

 

(c) Documentation of earning 2.0 board approved CEUs within the previous 12 month 

cycle ending March 15th of year of application. 

488-X-1-.08  Non-Renewable Permit.   

(1) A non-renewable permit will expire twelve (12) months after the issuance date.  The non-

renewable permit limits the permit holder to providing services in the specific area for which the 

non-renewable permit has been issued. This permit cannot be renewed.  

A non-renewable permit may be obtained my submitting the following: 

 

(a) Notarized Application for the non-renewable permit, 

 

(b) The payment of the nonrefundable fee, 

 

(c) One of the following: 

 

(i) GED, High school Diploma or Certified transcripts 
 

(ii) College diploma or college certified transcripts   

 

(d) The Board approved recommendation forms from three (3) licensed/certified 
Interpreters attesting to the skill level of the applicant, 

 

(e) Proof of citizenship and  



 

(f) Proof of citizenship form 
 

488-X-1-.09 Deaf Interpreter & Transliterator Exemption Request.   

(1) A Deaf Interpreter and Transliterator Permit will be issued only to a person who is deaf.  A 

Deaf Interpreter Permit may be obtained by submitting the following: 

(a) Notarized a Application for the Deaf Interpreter Permit, 
 

(b) One of the following: 
 

(i) GED, High School Diploma or Certified transcripts or 
 

(ii)        College diploma or college certified transcripts 

   

(c) Documentation from a licensed practicing physician audiologist stating that you are 
legally deaf, according to Federal Government Standards. 
 

(d) Proof of Citizenship and 
 

(e) Proof of Citizenship form. 
 

(2) Beginning March, 15, 2016, anyone applying for a deaf Interpreter and Transliterator 

exemption will be required to have proof of 2.0 continuing education points prior to applying. 

488-X-1-.10 Deaf Interpreter& Transliterator Exemption Renewal. 

(1) A Deaf Interpreter and Transliterator Permit shall expire annually on March 15th.  In order to 

renew the permit, the permit holder must:          

(a) Prior to March 15th of each year, submit an notarized application for Deaf Interpreter 

and Transliterators Permit Renewal, and 

 

(b) Provide documentation of earning 2.0, board approved CEUs within the previous 

twelve (12) month cycle ending March 15th of year of application. 

 



488-X-1-.11  Exemptions. 

(1) In certain Limited Circumstances for hearing Interpreters & Transliterators the board may 

grant exemptions status from licensure or permitting for a period of ninety (90) days for only the 

following reasons: 

(a) A catastrophic emergency, including protracted illness under the care of a physician, 
reasonable precludes the meeting of CEU requirements or compliance of testing in a 
timely manner to receive certification before March 15th. Failure to receive test results 
shall not be grounds for this exemption. 

(b) Service by a military person on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States, 
Which precludes them from reasonably completing completion of the requirements for 
licensure or Permitting. 

The following persons shall be exempt from licensure or permitting: 

(1)  Any student who is enrolled in a formal American sign language program, a formal 
interpreter training program, or a formal interpret or transliterator internship program.  
The student shall be allowed to interpret or transliterate as part of his or her training for a 
maximum of 16 weeks in an educational setting or 120 hours in an agency or business. 

(2) Any person who interprets or transliterates solely in a church, synagogue, temple or 
other religious setting. 

(3) Any person residing outside of the State of Alabama may provide interpreting and 
transliterating services for up to 14 days per calendar year without a license. 

(4) Any person desiring to interpret for remuneration where circumstances do not allow for 
fulfillment of the stated requirements for licensure or permitting may petition the board 
for exemption status. 

(5) Those public education personnel and State Department of Rehabilitation personnel, 
who are not hired as interpreters and transliterators and who are not as a part of their job 
description responsible for providing interpreting or transliteration services, in 
circumstances that may necessitate their function as interpreters and transliterators in 
emergency or incidental situations. 

(6) All other public education personnel hired prior to March 15, 2000, who provide 
interpreting and transliterating services to students.  These personnel shall apply for and 
receive a permit specifying that their permits are restricted to interpreting and 
transliteration services provided in the public education setting only.  The application for 
this permit shall be submitted to the board prior to October 1, 2000.  It shall be the 
responsibility of the permit holder to annually renew the permit by earning continuing 
education units in compliance with the requirements of the interpreters and 
transliterators licensure law.  If personnel, who have been grandfathered in pursuant to 
this subdivision, for any reasons should allow their permits to lapse or expire, those 
personnel shall lose all privileges of this exemption and shall adhere to all requirements 
of the interpreters and transliterators licensure law to renew their permits. 

488-X-1-.12 Complaint Procedures. 

(1) Upon self-disclosure or receipt of a written or videoed complaint to the ALBIT Board, alleging 

that an Interpreter or Transliterator has violated a statute or rule, the Executive Director shall 

perform a preliminary review to determine if there is merit and sufficient evidence to warrant 



formal proceedings.  Complaints must be submitted to the Board within ninety (90) days of the 

alleged occurrence. 

(2) When the Executive Director determines there may be merit and sufficient evidence exists to 

warrant proceedings, an investigative committee shall be formed consisting of one (1) Board 

member, one (1) Board counsel, and the Executive Director. 

(a) When the Board receives self-disclosure or receipt of a written complaint  being filed 

against a licensee or unlicensed Interpreter or Transliterator, the Board or its designee 

shall provide the respondent with the allegations.  The Interpreter or Transliterator may 

submit, to the Executive Director, a written or videoed response and any supporting 

documentation. 

(b)The committee shall review the complaint and other information submitted to 

determine if further investigation is warranted.   

(i) (3)  If further investigation is warranted, an investigator may be retained.  The investigator 

shall work under the direction of the Executive Director to conduct further investigation;  

(ii) (4)  At the conclusion of the investigation, the investigator shall submit an investigation report 

to be reviewed by the investigative committee, which has the authority to act on the report.  

(i)(a)  The investigative committee shall send written notification to the complainant and 

Interpreter or Transliterator against whom the complaint was made of any action it 

decides to take in response to the investigation report. 

(c)(b) If the committee determines that an investigation is not warranted, the Executive 

Director may close the investigative file, The Executive Director shall notify the 

complainant and the Interpreter against whom the complaint was made that the 

investigation has been closed. 

(3)(5) When a preliminary review discloses that further investigation is not warranted, the 

complaint will be brought to the Board for dismissal with out any further action. 

(4)(6) Board Action Following Investigation, the Board or its authorized designee shall have the 

power to act on the report of the investigation as follows: 

 

(a) Dismiss the complaint. 

(b) Enter into settlement negotiations. 

(c) Commence disciplinary proceedings. 

(d) Accept voluntary surrender of a License or Permit 

 

 



488-X-1-.13 Reinstatement of License. 

(1) Any licensed Interpreter or Transliterator in good standing who is renews a license within 

forty-five (45) days of renewing his or her license of the current cycle the close of the renewal 

cycle may be granted reinstatement upon submission of:  

 

(a) Payment of reinstatement fee, renewal fee, and late fee.  

(b) Documentation of applicant earning 2.0 CEUs within the last 12 month cycle or 

documentation of applicant adhering to the RID Certificate Maintenance Program by 

including a copy of applicant’s most recent RID CMP/ACET record. 

(c) Licensure application. 

488-X-1-.14  Reinstatement of Permit. 

(1) Any Permitted Interpreter or Transliterator in good standing who fails to renewal by April 29th 

of current renewal cycle may be granted reinstatement upon submission of renews a Permit 

within forty-five (45) days of the close of the current renewal cycle may be granted 

reinstatement upon submission of:  

(a) Payment of reinstatement fee, renewal fee, and late fee. 

(b) Documentation of completion of CEUs for every year a previous permitted has failed 

to renew or equivalent to 2.0 CEUs per year. and 

(c) Permit application. 

 
Sharon Canada seconded the motion.  Voting ”aye” were Ben Hollingsworth, Tammy 
Adams, Melvin Walker, Patricia Smartt, and Sharon Canada.  Voting “nay” were none.  
The motion passed.      

IV. Motion 2015-03 – A motion was made by Ben Hollingsworth to nominate Melvin 
Walker for Chair.  Tammy Adams seconded the motion.  Voting “aye” were Ben 
Hollingsworth, Tammy Adams, Melvin Walker, Patricia Smartt, and Sharon Canada.    
Voting “nay” were none.  The motion passed unanimously.      

V. Motion 2015-04 – A motion was made by Melvin Walker to nominate Ben 
Hollingsworth for Vice Chair. Tammy Adams seconded the motion. Voting “aye” were 
Ben Hollingsworth, Tammy Adams, Melvin Walker, Patricia Smartt, and Sharon 
Canada.  Voting “nay” were none.  The motion passed unanimously.           
Motion 2015-05 – A motion was made by Ben Hollingsworth to nominate Sharon 
Canada for Secretary.  The motion was seconded by Melvin Walker.  Voting “aye” 
were Ben Hollingsworth, Tammy Adams, Melvin Walker, Patricia Smartt, and Sharon 
Canada.  Voting “nay” were none.  The motion passed unanimously. 

VI. There being no further Board business, the Chair adjourned the meeting at 11:54 a.m. 
and announced that the next scheduled Board meeting would be held on August 28, 
2015, at 10:00 a.m. at the Board office in Montgomery. 

 



Respectfully Submitted, 
 
 

_______________________________ 
Melvin Walker, Chair 

 
 

_______________________________ 
Ben Hollingsworth, Vice-Chair 

 
 

_______________________________ 
Paula McCaleb, Executive Director  

 


